

## **GOVERNOR'S STEM ADVISORY COUNCIL**

dedicated to building a strong STEM education foundation for all lowans

Governor's STEM Advisory Council Executive Committee Teleconference Meeting October 31, 2016 4:15 to 4:39 PM

Members of the Executive Committee of Governor's STEM Advisory Council were convened by co-chairs Lt. Governor Reynolds, Dr. Nelson and Exec. Director Weld by telephone conference on October 31, 2016, 4:15 to 4:39pm to discuss and approve of two items:

- 1. The commitment of up to \$100,000 in private sector unrestricted investments to support additional STEM BEST awards beyond the six budgeted for 2016-17. Assistant Director for Development Carrie Rankin explained the sources and intent of the funding. Executive Committee member Gary Scholten sought clarification on use of unrestricted funds in general, and Asst. Dir. Rankin explained the range of uses of such funds to include event support and the augmentation of programs such as Code lowa and Scale-Up. But at this moment in time, the recommendation on the table is to prioritize additional STEM BEST awards. Verbal consent was sought and granted.
- 2. Recommendations for Council funding of ten new STEM BEST models for 2016-17 were presented. Exec. Dir. Weld explained the proposal review process (numeric by 17 volunteer reviewers) and qualitative considerations (regional network managers and operations team) that led to ranks and recommendations. The following proposals were recommended for funding:

PROPOSAL /region WaukeeAPEX SC Boone NC Muscatine SE W.Delaware NE Spencer NW Story Co. NC/SC N. Cedar NE Assumption SE Ft. Madison SE IKMManning SW

The following were not recommended for funding:

St. Joseph NE BCLUW NC Clinton SE Ankeny SC

After a period of discussion focused on those proposals that ranked numerically strongly or weakly despite being recommended or not recommended, a roll-call vote ensued. Members present casting votes were Jerry Deegan, Barry Butler (for Bruce Harreld), Beth Townsend, Debi Durham, Ryan Wise, Rob Denson, Mark Putnam, Kacia Cain, Gary Scholten, Johnathan Wlckert (for Steven Leath), Robin Gruebel (for Paul Schickler III). (Members not present or represented: John Carver, Kelly Ortberg, and Jim Wohlpart.) Rob Denson motioned for the recommendations be presented for vote. Following brief discussion, the motion was seconded by Jerry Deegan. All members present voted affirmatively on the recommendations as presented.

Closing comments from Dr. Nelson and Lt. Gov. Reynolds acknowledged the valued investment of time on the part of reviewers and executive committee members to move this innovative school-business partnership model forward.

The meeting concluded at 4:39pm. Submitted by Jeff Weld