The Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council

In July of 2011, Governor Terry Branstad signed Executive Order 74 creating the Iowa Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Advisory Council and Executive Order 81 to strengthen and expand the STEM Council. The STEM Council is Iowa's edu-nomic development initiative to invigorate the PreK-12 talent pipeline toward STEM careers.

Governor Kim Reynolds and Accumold President and CEO Roger Hargens lead the STEM Council and is made up of leaders in higher education, business, Pre-K through 12 educators, as well as state and local government officials. A total of 50 members comprise the STEM Council from across the state of Iowa, including 17 Executive Committee members, collaborating to boost STEM education and innovation. The STEM Council conceives of STEM-specific programs, STEM events, and STEM resources to Iowans.

Greatness STEMs from the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council

“These professionals come from a broad spectrum of the state’s education, business and civic sectors and will work together to lead the way toward a strong future for our state in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. This group was created to advise our office on ways to improve STEM education and innovation, and economic development.”
- Governor Reynolds

Co-chair – Governor Kim Reynolds, State of Iowa, Des Moines, IA
Co-chair – Roger Hargens, President and CEO of Accumold, Ankeny, IA
Executive Director – Dr. Jeff Weld, Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council, Cedar Falls, IA

STEM Council Executive Committee

  • Ms. Kacia Cain, Science Educator, Central Campus, Indianola, IA
  • Dr. Robert Denson, President, Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny, IA
  • Ms. Deborah Durham, Director, Iowa Economic Development Authority, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. J. Bruce Harreld, President, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
  • Ms. Kathryn Kunert, Vice President for Business and Community Development, MidAmerican Energy, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. Mark Nook, President, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA
  • Dr. Mark Putnam, President, Central College, Pella, IA
  • Mr. Gary Scholten, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Principal Financial Group, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Beth Townsend, Director, Iowa Workforce Development, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. Wendy Wintersteen, President, Iowa State University, Ames, IA
  • Dr. Ryan Wise, Director, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines, IA

STEM Council Members

  • Ms. Emily Abbas, Chief Marketing Officer, Bankers Trust, Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Patrick Barnes, Program Director, Global STEM, John Deere Moline Technology Innovation Center, Moline, IL
  • Mr. Robert J. Cramer, Construction Engineer, Cramer and Associates, Inc., Grimes, IA
  • Dr. Barbara Crittenden, President, Southwestern Community College, Creston, IA
  • Ms. Cindy Dietz, Associate Director of State Government Relations, United Technologies, Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Ms. Emily Fuerst, Director of Research and Development for Crop Technologies, Kemin Industries, Inc., Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Rene Gadelha, Director of Curriculum Development, VictoryVR Education, Marion, IA
  • Ms. Mary 'Beth' Hochstedler, Education/Outreach and STEM Director, State Hygienic Lab, The University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
  • Ms. Katherine Howell, Coon Rapids, IA
  • Ms. Jessica Hyland, Executive Director, Iowa Biotechnology Association, Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Craig Johnson, Executive Director, Iowa Academy of Science, Cedar Falls, IA
  • Mr. Jordan Lampe, Director of Communications and Policy, Dwolla, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. Ann Lebo, Executive Director, Iowa Board of Educational Examiners, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. Sue Mattison, Provost, Drake University, Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Kasey McCurdy, Founding Engineer, Missionmark Information Services, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Mary Meisterling, Community Relations and Economic Development Manager, Alliant Energy, Cedar Rapids, IA
  • Mr. Scott Montgomery, Senior Vice President for Public Affairs, ACT, Inc., Iowa City, IA
  • Ms. Valerie Newhouse, President, Iowa Lakes Community College, Estherville, IA
  • Ms. Laurie Phelan, President and CEO, Iowa Jobs for America's Graduates, Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Jeremy Puck, General Manager, Puck Enterprises, Manning, IA
  • Ms. Sharon Rosenboom, Instructor of Mathematics, Dordt College, Orange City, IA
  • Mr. Christopher L. Russell, Data Center Operations Manager, Google, Council Bluffs, IA
  • Dr. Dan Ryan, President, Dowling Catholic High School, West Des Moines, IA
  • Mr. Tod Santel, Senior Director of Engineering, Collins Aerospace, Robins, IA
  • Mr. Curt Simmons, President and CEO, Science Center of Iowa, Des Moines, IA
  • Ms. Heather Stancil, Telecommunications Engineer and Analyst, MidAmerican Energy, Urbandale, IA
  • Ms. Kelsey Tyrrell, Director of Global Education Programs, The World Food Prize Foundation, Des Moines, IA
  • Dr. David Van Horn, Educational Administrator, Green Hills AEA, Council Bluffs, IA
  • Ms. Teri Vos, Corporate Communication, Vermeer, Pella, IA
  • Dr. Jonathan Wickert, Senior Vice President and Provost, Iowa State University, Ames, IA

To apply to serve on the STEM Council, please visit

To Top