Computer Science is Elementary Grant Awardees Announced

Computer Science is Elementary

Governor Kim Reynolds announced at today’s STEM Education + Workplace Partnerships: Governor's 2019 Future Ready Iowa Summit the six schools selected to receive $50,000 grants each as part of the Computer Science is Elementary project. The Governor’s STEM Advisory Council and the Iowa Department of Education are partnering with businesses and industries to support six high-poverty elementary schools in transforming themselves into models of innovative computer science instruction. The goal is to create more opportunity for their students and establish a network of computer science expertise as a statewide resource.

The six schools are:

  • Denison Elementary in the Denison Community School District;
  • Lenihan Intermediate in the Marshalltown Community School District;
  • Cora B. Darling Elementary in the Postville Community School District;
  • East Union Elementary in the East Union Community School District;
  • Perry Elementary in the Perry Community School District;
  • Richardson Elementary in the Fort Madison Community School District

"Computer science is a new basic skill that's required for success in a workforce constantly impacted by innovation and technology," said Gov. Reynolds. "With tomorrow's workers sitting in today's classrooms, we must prepare our students to be continuous learners and adaptable for the disruptive economy of the future." 

Thirty schools competed for the six awards, made possible thanks to generous support from private-sector partners who invested $350,000 total: Collins Aerospace as the lead sponsor, Principal Financial Group, MidAmerican Energy, Kemin Industries, Microsoft, Google, ITC Midwest, Alliant Energy, Technology Association of Iowa, Verizon, Paragon IT, AT&T, School Administrators of Iowa, Workiva, Pella Rolscreen Foundation, Merchant Bonding and Bankers Trust.

Loess Hills Computer Programming School, the inspiration for the Computer Science is Elementary project, also will receive a $50,000 grant to serve as a project resource.

The six schools selected to receive the $50,000 planning grants will implement their programs no later than the 2020-21 school year with regular school funding like Loess Hills Computer Programming School.

To Top